Board of Directors

The University of Illinois Foundation Board of Directors is the governing body of our organization. The Board is responsible for identifying and supporting our mission and selecting our chief executive.

The Board consists of a regular membership of 18 to 24 elected directors. Once elected, a Board member serves as a regular director for a term of three years.

Officers of the Board


Alan D. Feldman ’74, MBA ’76
(Retired) Chairman, President & CEO, Midas, Inc.


Kay M. Schwichtenberg ’84
President & CEO, Central Life Sciences

Immediate Past Chair

Gregory B. Lykins ’69
Chairman, First Busey Corporation


James H. Moore, Jr.


Jacquline N. Schweighart ’03, EdM ’09

Treasurer/Chief Financial Officer

Christine C. Devocelle MBA ’13

Chief Investment Officer

Ellen J. Ellison

Assistant Treasurers

Kevin L. Noland MS ’10
Michelle S. Bolger MBA ’14

Legal Counsel

Wesley W. Curtis ’83, JD ’86

Governing Directors

Donald E. Bielinski ’71
Managing Partner, SMB Interim Management, LLC

Anthony G. DiTommaso ’74, MS ’77
Managing Partner, Ecvall, LLC

Laura L. Fraley ’77, MS ’79
Principal, Greenway Family Office, LLC

Juanita F. Francis ’70
President, F2 Family Foundation

John A. Giuliani ’83
(Retired) President & CEO, Conversant, Inc.

Karen M. Golz ’76 
(Retired) Global Vice Chair, Ernst & Young Global Limited

Mary Kay Haben ’77
(Retired) President, North America, William Wrigley Jr. Co.

Gail Veasman Kellogg ’65
(Retired) Partner, Hewitt Associates

Stuart L. Levenick ’76
(Retired) Group President, Caterpillar, Inc.

Leon J. Loichle MA ’71
(Retired) Global Personnel Development Manager, Ford Motor Company

Jean M. Manning ’72, MBA ’78, JD ’83
Emeritus Chief Counsel for Employment, United States Senate

A. Helen McGrath ’77, MS ’78
(Retired) Vice President, AT&T Inc.

Saul J. Morse ’69, JD ’72
Attorney, Brown, Hay & Stephens, LLP

Richard C. Osborne MBA ’73
Senior Managing Director, Madison Industries

Deborah A. Paul, PhD MS ’79
(Retired) Biochemist/Director, Business Development & Licensing, Abbott Laboratories

Mary Ellen Penicook ’81, JD ’87
(Retired) Corporate Attorney & Assistant Secretary, Federal Signal Corporation

Mark A. Pytosh ’86
President & CEO, CVR GP, LLC

José L. Santillan ’80
Senior Securities Compliance Examiner, Industry Expert, Division of Enforcement, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission

Khawar M. Siddique ’94, MD ’98
CEO, Beverly Hills Spine Surgery, Inc.

Paul T. Tucker ’70, MS ’71, PhD ’75
(Retired) Corporate Vice President, Computer Sciences Corporation

Ex-officio Directors

Avijit Ghosh
Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Comptroller, University of Illinois System

Timothy L. Killeen
President, University of Illinois System

Donald J. Edwards ’88
Chair, University of Illinois Board of Trustees
Chief Executive Officer, Flexpoint Ford LLC

William D. Forsyth III ’86
President and Founder, Frontier Partners, Inc.

Life Directors

James M. Benson ’68
Chairman, Benson Botsford, LLC

Gary K. Bielfeldt ’58, MS ’59
Managing Partner, Bielfeldt & Company, LLC 

Henry B. Blackwell II ’52
(Retired) Counsel, Baker & Daniels, LLP

Alice C. Campbell JD ’43
(Retired) Treasurer, The Robert Campbell Company

Doris K. Christopher ’67
Founder & Chairman, The Pampered Chef, Ltd.

Richard G. Cline ’57
Chairman, Hawthorne Investors, Inc.

James R. DeBord ’69, MS ’71, MD ’74
President, Peoria Surgical Group, Ltd.

Jane Phillips Donaldson ’65, MS ’67
Partner, Phillips Oppenheim

David J. Downey ’63, JD ’66
President, The Downey Group, Inc.

W. Robert Felker ’74
Partner, Gator Trading

Louis A. Friedrich ’67
(Retired) Principal, Bernstein Global Wealth Management

John A. Georges ’51
(Retired) Chairman & CEO, International Paper Company

Phillip C. Goldstick ’53
(Retired) Chairman of the Board, G. Equity Investment Group, Ltd.

G. Stephen Irwin MD ’77
(Retired) President & Chairman, The Center for Outpatient Medicine

Mannie L. Jackson ’60
(Former) Chairman, Harlem Globetrotters

Shahid R. Khan ’71
President, Flex-N-Gate Corporation

Robert Klaus ’57
President, Klaus Companies

R. Eden Martin ’62
Of Counsel, Sidley Austin, LLP

William C. Merchantz ’79
(Retired) President & CEO, Lakeview Technology, Inc.

Steven L. Miller ’67
Chairman & President, SLM Discovery Ventures, Inc.

Joseph A. Piscopo ’65
(Retired) Chairman, Pansophic Systems, Inc.

Roger L. Plummer ’64
President, Plummer & Associates Consulting

Gayl S. Pyatt ’64
(Retired) Attorney, Gayl Simonds Pyatt, Attorney at Law

Jane Hayes Rader ’54
(Retired) Commissioner, Illinois Human Rights Commission

Edwin A. Scharlau II ’66, MS ’68, PhD ’74
(Retired) Vice Chairman, Busey Bank

George T. Shapland ’55
President, Shapland Management Company

Bernard Shaw ’66
(Retired) Principal Washington Anchor, CNN

Michael T. Tokarz ’71, MBA  ’73
Chairman, The Tokarz Group, LLC

Carl L. Vacketta ’63, JD ’65
(Retired) Senior Counsel, DLA Piper, LLP (U.S.)